Epic Johnny Cash Collection To Be Offered on Vinyl

79 tracks will go under the needle

johnny cashPhoto Credits: Instagram @cashmuseum

Following Johnny Cash’s death in 2003 a box set of previously unreleased songs called Unearthed was released. On November 3 of this year a new collection of the tracks will be released on vinyl.

Nine vinyl LPs will contain 79 tracks, and the project will also include two cloth-bound books. One contains the LPs,, and the other will include a 60-page coffee table book including liner notes taken from interviews at the country legend’s home in Hendersonville, TN.

The boxed set is divided into five thematic sections, Who’s Gonna Cry will encapsulate his acoustic solo recordings, with the Man in Black delivering some of the classics from his catalog.

Trouble in Mind contains electric performances and includes guest appearances by Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, Carl Perkins and members of the Red Hot Chili Peppers, as well as Cash’s wife June Carter Cash.

Redemption Songs is another acoustic collection which features duets with Joe Strummer, Fiona Apple, Nick Cave and Glen Campbell.

My Mother’s Hymn Book
comes as no surprise as the “Folsom Prison Blues” singer had a well-known passion for gospel music, and includes 15 gospel standards and Best of Cash on American features 15 tracks from Cash’s first four albums with Rick Rubin, who produced the original American Recordings.

His signature songs include “I Walk the Line,” “Folsom Prison Blues,” “Ring of Fire,” “Get Rhythm,” and “Man in Black.” He also recorded comical numbers like “One Piece at a Time,” and “A Boy Named Sue.” A duet with his beloved wife, June Carter, called “Jackson” was another stand out.

He sang railroad songs including “Hey, Porter”, “Orange Blossom Special” and “Rock Island Line.”

And during the last years of his career, Cash covered songs by several 20th-century rock artists, in addition to the aforementioned, “Hurt” by Nine Inch Nails and “Personal Jesus” by Depeche Mode.

Subscribe to CountryCommon on